The intros and fills help...

Started by boz52, January 09, 2010, 04:03:15 AM

I'm a newbie and a little confused on the timings of the intros and fills for the drum tracks.  Are they all one measure each? or are some longer?  I'm having trouble when I'm creating a song.  Any help is greatly appreciated.... Boz ???

launched

Some are longer than one measure! I hate that... It will require you to use two full measures for some fills.

I am speaking for the MBR - Not sure about the others.

Peace,

Mark
"Now where did I put my stream of thought. But hey, fc*K it!!!!!!! -Mokbul"
recorder
Boss Micro BR

recorder
Audacity

recorder
Cubase

Song List
About Me
Ok to Cover

64Guitars

Have a look at the Preset Pattern List on page 118 of the Micro BR Owner's Manual. The numbers in the rightmost six columns are the pattern length in measures.

In most cases, you'll want to use the full pattern. So you have to make sure that the starting measure of the next step in your arrangement is sufficiently high to allow the full pattern to play. For example, if step 1 of your arrangement is the intro pattern P019:ROCK4 which is 4 measures long, then step 2 should have a starting measure of 5.

Although, occasionally you might cut a pattern short intentionally. For example, as Farmjazz pointed out, you can make a nice 4-beat count-in to your song by playing only the first measure of pattern P265:Cnty1. To do that, set step 1 to pattern P265 and set the starting measure of step 2 to 2. Even though pattern P265 is two measures long, it will only play the first measure then switch to the pattern specified in step 2.

recorder
Zoom R20
recorder
Boss BR-864
recorder
Ardour
recorder
Audacity
recorder
Bitwig 8-Track
     My Boss BR website

"When one person suffers from a delusion it is called insanity. When many people suffer from a delusion it is called religion." - Robert M. Pirsig

launched