My First Real Song

Started by psychmusic, August 06, 2008, 08:36:52 PM

psychmusic

T12V2_04
Time:
0:00
Volume:
Ok, here is my first attempt at an original song. It has no title. Being a novice, I wanted to keep it simple. Feedback about the song and recording is welcome and requested. I am still learning about the BR. This is a work in progress as I intend to re-record with changes.

indierik

I like it! You have a great voice and I'm intrigued by your lyrics. The guitar solo could use a bit of work and I think the rhythm guitar could use some cleaning up as well, perhaps through a richer sound effect over it or remaster it. Either way, its a great first song! Bravo!!!
Without music, life would be a mistake.
-Friedrich Nietzsche

SteveG

Nice song! Try copying the rhythm to a new track, or better still play it again as close as possible, and pan the two tracks out quite wide. Bounce these two tracks and the solo to a stereo pair with soft compression, then add the vocal and do your master. Dont forget a bit of verb to blend it all together.

psychmusic

Thank you for the nice feedback. Like I said, this is a work in progress. I am still getting used to the BR. I have no recording experience, so bouncing, panning, and all that stuff is a bit confusing.

This has been how I have been working. Again, any feedback would be great.

Firstly, I i have been using a PODX3---->BR. With this device you can use both a mic and guitar at the same time. 

I lay down a "dummy" track with rough guitar and vocals on one track. Then I go back and re-do the vocals. Then, I re-do the rhythm track. Finally, I do a guitar solo.  I go and do a mastering. I am not sure what bouncing would do or what the benefit of this would be.

SteveG