New to the forum...a few questions

Started by sunjess, January 04, 2008, 10:32:08 PM

Hey guys, just picked up my micro BR, seems to be a great tool. I have a question though. is it safe to mic my amp and input the 1/4 mic into the guitar input on the BR rather then the 1/8? Or should I get a 1/8 adapter for my 1/4 mic cable? Any pros/cons? Is the BR not really intended to have a amp mic'd and fed in? Should I just stick with the onboard features?

Any help would be greatly appreciated. This is my first attempt at actually recording my stuff. This is a great community and one of the reasons why I picked up the unit, there seems to be so many knowledgable people out there.

Take care

Doug

Pedro

Hi there, Doug!

QuoteHey guys, just picked up my micro BR, seems to be a great tool. I have a question though. is it safe to mic my amp and input the 1/4 mic into the guitar input on the BR rather then the 1/8? Or should I get a 1/8 adapter for my 1/4 mic cable?

The main difference between 1/8 Line IN and 1/4 Guitar IN is the inpedance, which can be seen as a resistance to the signal. So, more inpedance means more resistance to the audio signal and that means less volume. I'm assuming your talking about a dynamic microphone. These microphones inpedances range from about 300 ohm to 10 Kohm. The inpedance in Line in is 16 kohm and in the Guitar IN is 1Mohm. So if you connect your microphone directly to any of these inputs, chances are you aren't going to get any sound because the inpedances don't match.

One way to solve this is to get an inpedance transformer or to pass the microphone signal through a mixer and then connecting the output of the mixer in the Line IN. Another way is to use Electret Microphones, these have the right inpedance to connect to Line In (with the Plugin Power on).

Anyway, first you can always try to plug it in and see if works. You won't damage anything. This is not a promise, though. :D