using stereo tracks

Started by blkmonday, October 06, 2009, 08:54:47 AM

blkmonday

im new to the br-1600 and started recording a demo for my band and now realize...that the 1600 is really only a 12 track machine and 4 of those tracks are stereo tracks. can someone give me a simple solution/setup to record a 4 piece band? this is what ive done so far..
track
1-bass drum
2-snare
3-overhead left drums
4-center overhead drums
5-overhead right drums
6-bass guitar
7-rythm guitar
8-lead guitar

i want to mix and master on the machine. where do you suggest i go from here? bouncing the drums to another track? if so what track?
is there a track that must be used to mixdown to to master and burn a cd?
i still need to add at least one more guitar track and 3 vocal tracks.
also
i own a roland vs880vs...in the future can these units be linked together via mid to run as a slave/master setup to gain more tracks?

so far the recording sounds amazing...bouncing scares me a little..ill proceed with caution.
thanks in advance for any advice

blkmonday

to add a question can i use a stereo track for vocals? if so do i need to do anything different?...stereo tracks confuse me...as you can tell. i wish they just had 2 stereo tracks and had more regular tracks...i would have preffered not to bounce anything and just mixing it all at once. had i known i would run into this i would have gotten the korg 24trk or the tascam 24trk...live and learn

SteveB