Rock and Roll Rebel

Started by StephenM, September 25, 2020, 12:56:19 PM

StephenM

LANDR-Rock and Roll Rebel - mix 9-10-9-Medium-Balanced
Time:
0:00
Volume:
2 Rhythm Guitar tracks using my Les Paul and BossMe-25 pedal board on a edge sound.  1 Lead guitar track using a heavier sound and near the speaker output for more sustain and a little feedback.  Epiphone bass using the ME-25 on a clean sound (I need to get a bass pedal), Alesis Drums played with sticks (I'M a wannabe but it is a blast), Vocals using my Sennheiser e835 dynamic mic (I like it so much more than than my condenser mics).  A little attitude, BR1600 in tandem (would not have needed this time), mixed on the BR and mastered on LANDR and i really like this very much... strong and powerful master.
I started playing this little rhythm and it took me a bit to get it as simple as it is.  So I record it so I don't forget it.  Then I got a drum track that worked with it and recorded 4 min of that to play with to keep me in synch.  Then I recorded the rhythm guitar parts about 50 times (ha).  Then i did bass and I played that about 20 times until i had something i liked.  Then I wrote words and went to bed.  The next day when I came back I wrote completely different words then i sang them with an idea in mind that of course i could not get to but I liked it well enough so this is it and 1 backing track (and that only took me 1 take).  The hard part with the lead vox for me was getting exactly when to come in at each spot.  Then I went back and played the drums about 20 times.  Worked on lead guitar.  Then mixed.  The very start has a 6 sec delay with a kind of noise in it... generally I would get rid of it but I decided to keep it...just because.
I think a person that does mixing and has to be ok with listening to the same song over and over which I am because that is what I do anyway.