clipping w/o clip indicator...HELP! thanks...

Started by jeffmitchellmusic, May 19, 2009, 10:42:39 AM

Hi All,
First post here.  I've been using the Micro-BR for a couple of years now and have had some success.  Picked up a new problem.  I'm getting distortion on input signals when they get just past the halfway mark on the level indicator.  No clip light or anything.  It should be well within the recording range.  It sounds lousy!  Any thoughts?
all the best, Jeff
p.s. it's not just the onboard mic.  the guitar input is doing it as well.  haven't checked for it on the line input yet.

hewhoiscalledj

how are you monitoring? check the headphones or speaker outs, or check a mastered song on another system to see if the distortion carried over into the recording itself... yikes.

jkevinwolfe

Jeff,

You on batteries or AC? I have heard elsewhere that people have had issues with weak batteries causing distortion. I use lithium, which are outrageously priced but give lengthy performance and then just kind of croak. I'm guessing that a faulty AC adapter could have the same effect.

Also, I have noticed that sounds below the clip indicator threshold can start to sound somewhat distorted, depending on their abruptness and other characteristics. You might also check the input volume control on the right and the sensitivity. Generally I run the input knob at 85 as I have noticed a little distortion in some inputs when I have run it at 100.

What effect are you using when you get distortion? The mic effects shouldn't distort, but if you run the mic through a guitar effect, it typically does.

Glenn Mitchell

Then there is the old forgetting to shut off the FX during playback. Not so likely with a experienced user but I still do it occasionally.
recorder
Boss BR-800
recorder
Boss Micro BR

Cakewalk Sonar platinum

https://soundcloud.com/you/tracks

Flash Harry

Is there any DC offset on your inputs? This could cause it.