Greetings from New Zealand

Started by leighelse, December 21, 2015, 05:47:03 PM

leighelse

Hello folks,

I've been lurking on this forum for a couple of days - gosh, there's some talent here!

I thought it's only polite to introduce myself. I've been writing songs since I was about ten (am I allowed to admit that's now fifty years ago?), and recording them since I got my first Thorn 4218 sound-on-sound reel recorder in 1969. Along the way I've recorded in analogue studios, and latterly with DAWs ... but over the last few years it's seemed that every improvement in my DAW environment has been accompanied by a corresponding drop in productivity. So a few weeks ago I bought a pre-loved BOSS BR1600 Mk II on eBay.

I've not yet fired up the BR1600 in anger, but I'm eager! First though, I have some serious work projects to get out of the way (I'm a software developer) and, uuhh ... it's Christmas as well.

There's some of my older solo stuff on Bandcamp (be aware I'm a songwriter not a singer). I also have a folio of more recent work which is largely incomplete: I'm looking forward to reworking it with the BR1600 and posting the results. I see a few threads about collaborations here too: that excites me.

Looking forward to reading and hearing more from you all.

::Leigh

Dueling BR1600s. Beats banjos.

cuthbert

Welcome Leigh, from the the sunny shores of Maine, USA. Looking forward to hearing more from you!
recorder
Boss Micro BR
recorder
Boss BR-80
recorder
Boss BR-800

recorder
Adobe Audition
recorder
Cubase

Bluesberry

Welcome from Eastern Canada Leigh.  Very glad you found us.  You are going to love the BR-1600, I have a BR-1200 and once you get used to it it is very easy and intuitive, lots of good old fashioned sliders and knobs, great recording interface. 

Alternate Tunings: CAUTION: your fingers have to be in different places

recorder
Boss Micro BR
recorder
Boss BR-80
recorder
Boss BR-1200
recorder
iPad GarageBand

Hook