Mixing Question

Started by psychopants, March 12, 2009, 02:27:27 PM

Hello all, first post here but I've been browsing for a month or two and learned some excellent recording advice! This is my first project (band recording) and I'm getting a bit lost with the mixing process. Ok, here's where I'm up to so far.....
Recorded live stereo drums using the cheap sony stereo condenser mic onto tracks 1&2.
Recorded bass straight in onto tracks 3&4, got the levels and panning somewhere right then bounced onto tracks 12V2.
Recorded guitar straight in onto tracks 3&4, got the levels and panning right then bounced onto tracks 12V3.
Recorded first vocals using the sony mic onto tracks 3&4, set the levels and panning then bounced onto tracks 12V4.
Recorded harmony vocals in the same way onto tracks 3&4, and set the levels and panning.
Now this is where I'm up to, all the recordings finished but on playback of one song I realize I want to make the bass louder. Is this possible without turning everything else up? Or have I buggered it up and have to start again? Or am I expecting too much from the BR and will I have to upload it all onto the computer and finish it off on there?

hewhoiscalledj

Sounds like you were doing it correctly. If you have already bounced all the tracks together (V1, V2, V3, V4 etc...) Then it's too late to do anything besides EQ and Compression of the final track.

As long as you havent deleted the original recordings and vtracks, you should be able to go back into the bass trakcs and tweak that. I'd suggest mild EQing and not necesarily boosting the low end; you may bet better results from just dropping the high end on that bass track so just experiment. A touch of compression on the lower and mid band should help make that bass line stand out more. You can simply increase the track level, or boost input and or output gain.

Cheers for that, suspected that may be the case but thought I'd better make sure before I mastered it! Thanks,
Tom

Kody