vocal looper - any advice/recommendations?

Started by Hilary, September 28, 2013, 04:39:52 AM

Hilary

Hi guys - I'd like to do a song live where I want to loop the vocal (probably acapella as I'm hopeless at strumming a proper rhythm) and do a running commentary over the loop. It may shock some of you to know I'm not very good with technology ;) so I need something that's idiot-proof. Also I use in-house sound systems and there is absolutely no time for messing about.

Have you got any recommendations?

Thanks x
recorder
Boss BR-80

comme ci, comme ça

Hook

As far as I know Haylie there aren't any specific vocal loopers but I like the Boss ones (surprise)

The RC-3 is the most basic, press pedal to record, press again and it plays the loop. You will need a mic with a quarter inch plug (or an adapter) I use the old double pedal version the RC20 but they've discontinued that one & replaced it with the rc30

This one is the cheapest one, the Ditto looper from TC electronics

It will probably do what you need but I've never used one.
They of course make bigger and better ones but it doesn't seem like you need to many features. None of them are entirely idiot proof, timing is really important but with a little practice it's pretty easy.

Just a thought but if you had it all set up before hand couldn't you use the BR80?

Regardless, I love using my looper live, with the double pedal ones (my old one at least) you can layer up to 11 loops, great for adding percussion, lead lines & vocal harmonies. It really can add depth to a soloists performance!
Good luck!

recorder
Boss BR-80
recorder
Boss BR-800
Because the Hook brings you back
I ain't tellin' you no lie
The hook brings you back
On that you can rely

Blooby

Don't know how you are recording, but you could pop on a drum pattern, sing to that, and then cut and paste after losing the percussion/metronome.