Few track copy/save questions...

Started by dragonshade, January 19, 2009, 02:54:32 PM

dragonshade

Hello everyone. I am new here, and just got my Micro BR a week ago. A pleasure to have a group like this to learn and share from/with. I have been playing guitar for many years (way more off than on), and had no idea such a powerful multi-track recorder was available so cheaply, and so small.

Anyway I have had a blast over the last week and am working on a song now with many tracks already done, and have finally figured most of this "magic little chrome box".

My questions are...

1) If you master to a v-track (let's say 3-4/V-5) is that track later re-recordable? When I go back to it and try to record over the V-track I still here the master (overboosted) and with a loud buzz. This only happens on a track I recently mastered. (this track "plays" fine) Of course I can re-record on any on my other V-tracks with no problem.

2) How exactly do you copy tracks and more importantly can I record a mono "track 3" guitar harmony, and then copy it to "track 4" so I have both on the same piece?

3) What is the benefit to mono recording mixed with stereo... in other words I have 2 guitars together on tracks 1 & 2 (in stereo), I want to add some harmonies. Would it be better to do a harmony in stereo on 3 & 4, and bounce it panned heavy left, and then repeat panned to left.   ........OR  add 2 mono harmony tracks (left and right). What is the benefit of either/both in regard to the other? Doi I get more separation adding mono?

4) Lastly, (for now lol), can I make an exact copy of my song as it is (with all virtual tracks and all) to save. This way I could continue and get more complicated without worry of damaging what I have to this point by having a current backup. (also I can have more V-tracks to work with... now I am saving each instrument's part on separate V-tracks so I can remix all again later if I want to, and am running out of room)