Mastering and volume Change

Started by Shadow, December 04, 2008, 03:36:24 PM

Shadow

Hello, relative newbie here.
Is is possible to change the volume of just a certain measure during the mixing or mastering process? If so could someone be kind enough to explain how one does that?
Thank you!

W

hewhoiscalledj

I havent tried this myself but you should be able to make real time changes DURING the mastering process. It's akin to a sound engineer "riding the fader" along with a live performance.

I guess the trick is accessing the track level control while it's mastering. I'd just give it a shot. My main point is that any changes you do during the mastering process will take place. Think of the process as a live recording from your saved track(s) into the final track.

Shadow

QuoteI guess the trick is accessing the track level control while it's mastering

Please bear with me on this. It seems to me when I change the track volume during the mastering phase, it changes the entire track volume not just a measure. (I am trying to increase the volume of the singers voice in one part of the song where he was too far away from the mic. We redid the entire song but I was wondering if I could have somehow just increased the volume for that one part of the song without recording the song again.) I know that on some software programs there is an "amplify" affect but not sure if this can be done on the BR.

Thanks for your kind assistance.

W

Greeny

I make minor adjustments to individual track volumes all the time during mastering. It's easy to do. From the main screen, press Track 2, and you'll see the record screen. But if you scroll right using the '>' button, you'll come to the next screen, which is volume levels for each of the 4 tracks. These can all be adjusted individually in real time during mastering using the '+' and '-' buttons. The next scroll right will take you to panning if that's of any help too.

As far as I know, this is the only way to do it.

Good luck!