Are you a working musician?

Started by Farmjazz, August 03, 2008, 09:39:24 AM

Farmjazz

Just curious how many on this forum are in working bands, or teaching, or working in a music store, etc. Are you out there sharing your music in your community or touring?

tackium

LOL. I'm a construction worker. Just having fun. I have a friend with some real talent and I've been recording him. Hopefully things will work out for him fine.

SteveG

I do teach local kids who could not otherwise have lessons, but for free 'cos I enjoy doing it. Had a couple of offers from band's, but shiftwork and family sadly don't leave time  >:(

Indiana

I play weekends regularly at church. There's no pay but the benefits will be great  ;)

rod
<><

PhilFromIT

I'm a systems analyst (fancy term for programmer) by trade. I've played solo guitar for church but nothing for pay.

guitarron

i have played in bands since a very tender age-consider myself semi retired now. I have a job that is very prohibitive towards playing out because of the days/nights and i work.
Have played full time for a quite few years in the 80's and 90's-part time since then-last band was a variety  band-played  functions more than bar gigs.
I now f8@k around mostly recording.
My interest has been in jazz the last couple of years-but played rock a whole lot as a kid. Country  Blues-Elvis tribs Cooper trib too
Since my health is now improving i'm feeling like playing out again.
Ron

recorder
Boss BR-600
recorder
Boss Micro BR
recorder
Cakewalk SONAR
recorder
Reaper
recorder
Cubasis
recorder
iPad GarageBand

Blooby

I can count on one hand the times I've played out since I became a teacher in 1991.  Now I'm an assistant principal and time is even tighter.

But...