recording real drums....

Started by mrjeff1s, January 02, 2010, 01:01:55 PM

Hello.  I just joined this group today.  I'm a drummer that is slowly turning into a guitarist.  So recording my real drums is as important as recording my guitar. 
  I really like the looks of the Boss br-900cd, but not so happy with it only having 2 inputs.  So is it possible to buy a seperate mixer...mic my drums and somehow send to the br-900 into the 2 ins?
Any specs I need to look for to do this with a seperate mixer?
  I've checked out the zoom hd16 with the 8 inputs but I like the cosm bass feature on the boss. (so I save money by not buying a bass gtr)
 Also on the br-900.  If I go with external mixer can I send signal from boss to the mixer for playing live with what I've recorded?
  Alot of questions and today is my first day, so I apologize in advance.   ;D  Jeff

64Guitars

Quote from: mrjeff1s on January 02, 2010, 01:01:55 PMI really like the looks of the Boss br-900cd, but not so happy with it only having 2 inputs.  So is it possible to buy a seperate mixer...mic my drums and somehow send to the br-900 into the 2 ins?
Any specs I need to look for to do this with a seperate mixer?

Yes. Any mixer will do the job. The Behringers are popular because they're inexpensive and fairly good value. But there are lots of other good mixers available for not much more than the Behringers. Run the mixer's Line Out pair to the BR-900's Line In and record to a pair of tracks for stereo.

The advantage of a recorder with multiple inputs is that you can send each drum mic to a separate track. This lets you fine-tune the sound of your drums later in the mix. For example, you could adjust the level of the kick drum or adjust its tone with the EQ controls.

QuoteI've checked out the zoom hd16 with the 8 inputs but I like the cosm bass feature on the boss. (so I save money by not buying a bass gtr)