You never can tell (c'est la vie) cover Chuck Berry by JP

Started by Jean Pierre, January 21, 2024, 01:32:25 AM

Jean Pierre

YOU NEVER CAN TELL. RENDER MP3
Time:
0:00
Volume:
I haven't lost my knack for playing guitar "Chuck Berry style".
Well, it's like riding a bicycle... you never forget! ;D

It has to be said that the "two udders" of my self-taught guitar training were The Shadows and then Chuck Berry.

In fact, that's probably the only thing I have in common with Keith guitar, who was addicted to Chuck Berry in the early days of the Stones.

In fact, the good master was quite severe with him.
and you'll remember this rehearsal video of him berating Keith Richard about the way he played the introduction to "Carol", which didn't suit him.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mHOiwOanIBM    ..................excellent

I was lucky enough to see Chuck Berry twice in Lyon, France, at the time (I was 16) I was playing in a local rock band (the Red Rooster  ;) .

Chuck Berry used to tour Europe without a backing band, so he used local musicians (which was pretty cool), because we all knew his repertoire, of course ... but more or less well, and that led to some memorable shouting matches in the middle of a concert with his local musicians for the day!

It was a lot of fun doing this song, of which I still understand 2 or 3 words: "Monsieur, Mademoiselle, Pierre, and the famous c'est la vie".
also thanks for your indulgence for my frenchie accent ..but as my friend on SC says it is what it is ! :)

Ah yes I did all the instruments except the drums and the fabulous piano played by
Kevin Yates McKendree an American electric blues pianist, keyboardist, guitarist, singer, and songwriter. In addition to his lengthy and varied career as a session musician, McKendree has released two solo albums.
I don't know half of you half as well as I should like, and I like less than half of you half as well as you deserve.
The Lord of the Rings speech by Bilbo

Farrell Jackson