Breathless (Instrumental)

Started by StephenM, April 30, 2023, 05:54:25 PM

StephenM

breathless
Time:
0:00
Volume:
In headphones the drums and bass are a tad weak.... but if you hear this in the car or on some ref monitors at a bit higher volume the mix kicks ass... at least to me... Last year I learned alot of improvements in vocal eq and mixing... this year it is DRUMS!!!!!  My friend Zoltan drops me some great drum eq advice, most of which takes me a long time to sort of understand...but it makes me dig some more...

I got this idea for guitar and bass... played to a metronome... then attempted to add drums... I was lost...totally lost... and then wham....I just started playing... admittedly I gained some confidence as I went along on the journey of playing a drum line for 50 tries and 5 recordings.  lol...

and then the real work started... mixing this... eq ing this... compressing this... wow...

how to get the drums out better.... man this was a long and incredible journey...

it ain't perfect... and it is an evidence that I listened to alot of Rush on my journey through life and some of that comes out in the music for sure.... especially late 70's early 80's Rush...that was so amazing that stuff.... that band got in an awful lotta peoples heads... and what a band it was...

recorder
Boss BR-1600
recorder
Zoom R24
         you can call me anything you like.  Just don't call me late for dinner

Kenneth

Enjoyed that Stephen, sounds like huge fun!
Yep, can hear the Alex influence.. don't you just love his playing?
I was actually listening to Signals(my fav.) and Moving pictures the other day on youtube. It was the record version. It's funny how I didn't realize how much synth they used in Signals, not sure if they remixed it later?
And I don't know, but I had to smile at some of the choices that were popular synth sounds ... especially songs like "Camera Eye"!
Anyhow, back to your tune... the mix is good here, the musicianship is great. I like what you did.