minor keys

Started by wiley, June 16, 2009, 04:20:28 PM

Wiley

Ok I have a ???  When we have been learning the blues most everything has been in a minor key.  so if we are play in Cm  what are the chords?  In regular C it is C, F, and G or G7,  so in minor is it Cm, Fm, and Gm?  I was thinking of trying something from scratch and I don't know major yet to play a lead.  So I was just curious what consitutes a song in the key of Cm.  I hope this made some sense.  I could ask my teacher but  I thought it might be fun to hear what all of you have to say.  I am sure the other students would like to know too!!  I was just thinking of making my own backing track again that you guys had so much fun with. And did such an excellent job!! Thanks
P.J.

hewhoiscalledj

Let me start by saying I'm not a theory expert... With that said, here's what I use to cheat.

http://www.traditionalmusic.co.uk/chords/chordchart.htm

There's a chart that shows all the common chords for each key.

I also often use these online guitar resources for figuring out chords, what sounds good with certain chords, and notes in a scale.

http://www.jguitar.com   and for printing out scales, I like using http://www.studybass.com/tools/chord-scale-note-printer/

so yeah, i cheat... but i sure love playing guitar!!!

Kody

Having just completed a year of Music Theory class in college, Wiley, I can tell you that the key of Cm constitutes:  Eb, F, G, Ab, Bb, C, D....

On the other hand, the key of CM has no flats(or sharps)...

And when it comes to me soloing, I love to cheat LOL!  Whatever sounds good is what I go with. lol!
recorder
PreSonus Studio One

StevieM

Errrrr ---- Chords????  I know in theory what they are. They're a lot of single notes played at the same time , right???? Any more than that, I'm lost and baffled.
Never have been able to get to grips with 'em.
Even Mikes simple patterns, Gm, C etc get me confused.
I just play what I hear ( or try to ;D), so can't help here.