A newbie here... Hello

Started by Rob Grant, February 06, 2022, 09:12:40 AM

Rob Grant

Hello ???? My name is Rob Grant and I was introduced to this site by Farrell Jackson. I'm a retired Steamfitter from Baltimore, Md. Since the late 50's music has been important to me and been a go to for sanity. I played in rock bands from the 60's through the 80's, first as a guitarist and ended up as a bass player. I consider myself a hobbyist and no means a pro. I quit playing in 1980, but continued as a record enthusiast. I worked in record stores go 12 years, when I switched to a new career as a Steamfitter. I never lost my love of music. I love ALL types of music, but rock was my main interest. In 2005 I was reading about computer recording and was sent on a new musical path. I purchased a Line 6 UXII interface and Ableton Live recording software. I joined a couple sites, made new friends, and became a collab whore????. I ultimately hooked up with Farrell Jackson, Gary Carcielo, and Doctor C. We started making a ton of music and became Rayon Vert. In 2011, my life changed and I went through multiple setbacks....computer crashes, lost files, moving, an apartment fire, and a loss of interest to start over. I retired in 2018, to help more in taking priority on my home life. When COVID hit, it really created a lot of stress and the condition of the US, stressed me as well. I needed something in my life and music was there waiting. I updated all my software, bought a new Telecaster and in November 2021 started my hobby up again. I reconnected Rayon Vert members and to my pleasant surprise, we regrouped. So!! Here I am with a new start. I play guitar and bass, minimal keyboards (I know some chords????), use EZ Drummer II, Line 6 Pod Farm2, and some midi keyboards and effects. I am partially deaf, so my mixing and mastering suffers. I have high end loss and muddled bass. WELL? My sleeve is exposed and I look forward to meeting new net musical friends.