Where to go after the discontinued BR-800

Started by jp68, March 28, 2021, 12:34:21 PM

jp68

I have been using my BR-800 for over eight years to help create backing tracks for my solo act... I am afraid that one of these days it's going to crap out on me... the way my BR-80 did, i.e, buttons, jog wheel, inputs short out... I've been looking at the TASCAM DP24, or possibly buying a like new BR-800 as a back-up... I don't see anything out there that compares to the 800 in terms attributes built in, i.e., COSM effects, Drum programmability, mastering effects, etc... In my case the limited number of tracks has not been a problem... Any ideas from the group? Thanks ????????

recorder
Boss BR-800

recorder
Boss BR-80

recorder
Boss Micro BR
recorder
Boss eBand JS-8
recorder
Audacity

Greeny

We've had a few discussions along these lines: whether it's better to stick to the old hardware we love or move / upgrade totally to DAW.

When my old MBR started playing up after 15 years I bought another one second hand. Not very imaginative or adventurous, but if you have something you know (and know will encourage you to make music), why change a winning formula?

So second hand is another option.

:-)

jp68

I don't think I'm ready to go with a DAW yet... Sweetwater has a killer deal on the DP-24... Reverb has a really cool looking BR-800... Still thinking which way to go...

recorder
Boss BR-800

recorder
Boss BR-80

recorder
Boss Micro BR
recorder
Boss eBand JS-8
recorder
Audacity

pjd1