Anybody here use other (GASP!) mixing equipment besides your BR?

Started by dwardzala, June 01, 2009, 06:25:59 PM

dwardzala

Newbie here - just found this forum when 64 went trolling on the yahoo mailing list.   ;D

I bought my BR600 a little over a year ago.  I record mostly covers and my first two songs were recorded and mixed entirely on the BR - I converted them to MP3 using Audacity.

However, I bought Guitar Tracks Pro 3 shortly after that and now I record all my tracks on the BR, use some of the effects (I tend to like to record wet - especially guitar parts and vocals), but I apply reverb and (especially) eq and mix va GTP3.  I then export to Audacity (I"m too cheap to buy the GTP3 MP3 converter) to convert to MP3.  To date I have left my tracks (mostly) unmastered.

Anybody else do something similar or have similar experiences to share?
Dave

BR-600

guitarron

recorder
Boss BR-600
recorder
Boss Micro BR
recorder
Cakewalk SONAR
recorder
Reaper
recorder
Cubasis
recorder
iPad GarageBand

Kody

I do that exactly....record mostly covers that is lol!!  No seriously, I use Audacity alot.  Especially for converting WAV files to MP3s.  It works real handy to cut off the beginning and end of tracks recorded on the BR.  I also use Mackie Tracktion 3...gotta love the GUI plugins!!  Welcome to the forum!!  Feel free to upload some of your work~ Everyone's very supportive here!!
recorder
PreSonus Studio One

Tony

I seem to have fallen into a pattern of using the BR Rythym Editor to build the drum track, Micro BR for the guitar and bass and Garageband for keys and anything I can squeeze out of the synth instruments on the Mac.  Garageband for all the end stuff like normalising. And then I start again because I never seem to finish anything.

AndyR

At the moment, I'm forcing myself to do it all on the MBR, because I feel that working to its technical restrictions helps keep me focussed and seems to make me concentrate on the music/creativity...