Planning to take the plunge...

Started by Frank53, August 16, 2020, 11:29:41 AM

Frank53

I've been a BR guy since I started home recording. My first was a '532, then an '864, now I use a BR-900CD. I guess I've been using it for well over 10 years now. I think I am about to retire the old beast, and move on to a software DAW. The question, of course, is which one? I'm looking for something that is fairly simple to use for recording and mixing, and reasonably priced. Will need the basic tools and effects, but I don't need all the most advanced bells and whistles. Something that has been around, and will continue to be around for a long time.

What do you guys use, and why? What do you see as it's advantages/disadvantages?

Thanks!
There are only three kinds of drummers. Those who can count, and those who can't.

Mike_S

I have heard good things about Reaper and I think it's pretty cheap... 60€ or something like that. I use GarageBand which is very easy to use but obviously u need a Mac computer or Macbook for that. Some of the other DAWs I have used on and off through the years and most can be a bit too complicated for me and pretty comfusing if you are not sure what you are doing.
recorder
iPad GarageBand

Flash Harry

Reaper is a great place to start. It's easy to use and to get to know, it's very capable, has some great free plug-ins, support for VST plugins, effects, software instruments etc. It doesn't need a small spaceship to run it, (I have a 8 year old laptop running 32 bit Windows 7, 2Gb RAM and SSD disk (the old spinning rust was too slow eventually).