Chibson (What are your views?)

Started by danthecoat, May 26, 2020, 08:51:40 AM

danthecoat

Gonna go out on a limb here and ask what peoples thoughts are on Chibsons?

I hope this dosnt end up inflammatory as its really not my intention i just wondered what peoples views were on these.

Morally i know they are wrong and that's not my discussion point i purely mean the build of these guitars.

I have been collecting these for about 2 years now and i have been consistently amazed at just how good the ones i have come across are. I have owned about 8 or 9 of them.

I buy and sell vintage toys and with what that entails (Boot sales, Auctions, Markets and Private buying) I tend to come across instruments as well and one day i was offered a lovely Les Paul. The man opened the case and i looked and said WOW!! "its not real" he said as quick as a flash and i picked it up and it felt real, it looked real it even had the serial number on the back. I strummed it and tuned it and it was just amazing. It is real i thought. I plugged it in to his pignose amp (Remember those?) It sounded bloody real. He said it was a fake from china and he wanted £150 for it and i bought it. Got it home looked over it and thought to myself how can this not be real. Now i have friends with Gibsons and i asked one to come over and bring his les paul. He arrived i sat him down and said look what ive bought and opened the case........WOW he said and picked it up and sat there with it in his hands and started to look it over. "How much did you pay" he asked £150 i said "Good" he replied cos its fake (lol) How did he know well there was a whole list of things and up against a real one it looks fake ALL DAY LONG. Plugged in to the same setup and it sounds fake ALL DAY LONG but with nothing to compare it to it sounds better than my epiphone les paul which was over £500.