working from home

Started by Flash Harry, March 25, 2020, 05:31:57 AM

Flash Harry

Hi All

These are strange times, I'm fortunate that I can work from home and I'm pretty much unaffected by the social separation.

It got me wondering, I know we are all musicians but many of us work as other things because music seldom pays the bills. What does everyone do when they are not being an active musician?

I'm an IT infrastructure architect, which means that I spend a lot of time thinking and writing technical documents about IT systems.

So what's your day job?

We are here on Earth to fart around. Don't let anybody tell you any different
- Kurt Vonnegut.

Greeny

Even my mum and family don't know or understand what I do  ;D

I'm a Data Strategist. Which means I used behavioural data (psychological mindsets, consumption patterns, transactions, digital footprints) to define marketing and advertising strategies. Basically, I work out which buttons to press so you buy something or join something or do something: how, where and why. But also to make your journey and interactions with a brand as easy as possible. I work with some very big global brands to do this.

The main part of my job is convincing people that my mad ideas are workable and credible  ;D

I've always been slightly ashamed of working in advertising. I never chose to, I'm just good at planning things and ended up here.

When we talk about 'essential jobs' in these troubled times, this is probably one of the least essential ones.

But my job will probably go soon anyway. It's precarious at the best of times.

TPB

I work for the U.S Coast Guard was active duty for 23 years search and rescue and anti-narcotics in South America Now I still work for them as a civilian 17 years I am blessed by being able to work for them at my house and only had to go into New Orleans once a week which I do not do anymore I stay hidden out at the farm
Tim