Strange sounds in acoustic electric...

Started by servex, March 06, 2008, 09:31:33 AM

I have just recently picked up a micro br... and I LOVE it! I have mostly been playing around with the effects, recording some standard guitar rhythms, and playing lead back over top. I have no experience with recording, but I am having a blast learning. That being said, when I plug in my ovation acoustic electric to do some finger picking, I get a lot of hissing and popping, and an overall bad sound. Is there any suggestions that could help me with recording acoustic tracks?

Thanks in advance!

Glenn Mitchell

Have you eliminated the guitar and cords as the problem?
IOW have your tried any other gear with the same results?
recorder
Boss BR-800
recorder
Boss Micro BR

Cakewalk Sonar platinum

https://soundcloud.com/you/tracks

Yes... I have tried my fender electric with the same cords without the same noise (electric guitar sounds fine). My guess is that it is something with the acoustic guitar. Just curious if this is a common problem, or if I could make some adjustments to the BR or my amp to improve recording with this instrument.

hewhoiscalledj

your best bet will be to record your acoustic guitar using either the built-in mic or another mic plugged into the BR. i've learned from several recording engineers and online that THE best way to capture an acoustic guitar is to mic them; and usually with at least 2 mics (one in front of the soundhole, another somewhere in the middle of the neck) this may sound strange and counterintuitive since you are able to just plug in, but it's definitely the way to go.

to begin, just use the built in mic. and also look up the other thread regarding the sony electet condenser mic. i've had awesome luck and results with it so far and it only cost about $10 on ebay.

good luck. glad you enjoy that BR. it's an awesome investment and tool.

Pedro