what do you consider to be the essential apps for ipad/iphones for songwriting.

Started by Oldrottenhead, November 01, 2016, 06:02:24 AM

Oldrottenhead

am pretty new to ipad and ios10, but consider garageband, essential. i also have thumbjam, tho i was expecting more from it, however still getting to grips with it. another app i find essential is notes. when i'm running through a new song trying to come up with a lyric, it's great for jotting down the stuff that works.

as i say i am new to ipads and i know there is a very long thread about apps, but what i want to know, which apps do you consider to be essential?
whit goes oan in ma heid

Jemima's
Kite

The
Bunkbeds

Honker

Nevermet

Longhair
Tigers

Oldrottenhead
"In order to compose, all you need to do is remember a tune that nobody else has thought of."
- Robert Schumann

ODH

I agree that GarageBand is essential, it's the hub of my recording. But on its own can be a little soulless.

Any other apps have to have inter-app audio to talk to GB.

Thumbjam is very good, has great sounds and does require a performance rather than just programming. But it does have a learning curve and I'm still on the foothills.

I have very few music apps beyond those two. I use DM-1 for my drums and wouldn't want to be without that. And a soft synth called Alchemy, which I don't think you can get anymore.

I'm also keen to hear what other apps people see as essential.
Overdrive - Distortion - Hyperactivity
Yesterdays shatter, tomorrows don't matter

Hook

So I have a bunch of soft synths and drum apps on the cloud but here are the ones always on my ipad. 
GB of course but I use it more as a performance tool, instruments, then to record with. Thumbjam, drumjam, TC Performer, animoog (mines iphone), pano tuner and ultimate guitar tab & netflix.

There are some I have on the cloud and occasionally use them,