What age did you start learning to play? And what was your influence or reason?

Started by kenny mac, August 06, 2016, 01:06:45 PM

kenny mac

Hi there people,I was just thinking about when I started playing guitar,I bought my 1st electric guitar from a catalouge and it was a black Kay les paul copy,I started to learn it at 17 years old but the reason I got into music was strange.
I saw a telescope in the shop window and asked my mum to get me it for my birthday as I was interested in the stars etc then.
The Telescope was too expensive but the guitar was next to it and she said,,,,what about that?
I was more mesmerised by the colour.
I spent about a year playing the riff to satisfaction by the stones on one string,then my older brother walked in and looked at me with disgust and said,when you going to learn that thing.
I felt so humiliated that I got a hold of a chord book and stuck in,then graduated to the les paul copy.
I guess I should thank my brother for the push that I needed however brutal it felt :(
We all need some direction eh?
What's your story

Blooby

I remember having a paper route at 12 or 13 to save up for a guitar. I ended up getting an Applause. It was awful, but I learned how to play on it. Not well, mind you, but well enough to get over the initial hump. I remember listening to loads of my brothers' music: Zeppelin, Who, Grand Funk, Santana, Steely Dan, Bad Company, Kiss (who might have been the reason for initially wanting to play), and Foreigner, but I was also borrowing The Best of Return to Forever, Dregs of the Earth (The Dixie Dregs), Playing the Fool (Gentle Giant), Cosmic Messenger (Jean-Luc Ponty) along with a steady diet of Tull, Yes, Elton John, Billy Joel, Cat Stevens, etcetera, etcetera...