The BR as a teaching tool

Started by visiblemember, April 22, 2009, 11:22:58 AM

visiblemember

Nessie Friendship Song OSG 4a_
Time:
0:00
Volume:
Here's the rest of the story. I'm an English teacher in Vienna, Austria at 11 different elementary schools. I play some games, teach some simple English, teach some songs, Bingo, old mcdonald, etc...BORING!!! Once in a while I'd rifle out a minute or so of some Tom Petty and such. The kids would go nuts! One of my work mates wrote a chant and we did that for a few months. it was cool. Then i finally finished it off and came up with "The Nessie Friendship Song"
Monday I give the lyric sheet to the kids and play the song on my guitar. Tuesday I bring in a CD with my full rock version and a kareoke version. The kids can listen, sing along. Wednesday I come in with the Micro BR and a guitar. I play the song through the headphones and play along with the guitar and mouth the words so the kids can keep pace and tempo. The fourth track on the BR is free. I record the kids singing, take it home, mix the kids with the master, burn a CD and bring it back on Thursday. Viola! They are rock stars!
If you're not living on the edge, you're taking up too much space.

Kody

Ahhh, this is great!! I'm going to be a music teacher and I have already been dreaming about doing this!!  Very cool......especially for an English teacher lol!!
What grade level are these kids? You've gotta love what this little box can do!!  Cool post!!
recorder
PreSonus Studio One

Satchwood

How cool!!  There's just something about hearing kids singing that's very heart warming!  Nice guitar work and the kids singing sounds terrific!  How very special it must be to part of their lives and while doing something you love with your music.
www.reverbnation.com/Satchwood
www.myspace.com/Satchwood
www.soundclick.com/Satchwood

"Sometimes It's Not How Fast You Move, But How Soon You Get There" - Bruce Lee