Everyone who makes music should read this ... scary times folks!

Started by Super 8, October 26, 2015, 12:16:00 PM

Super 8

Flash Harry

Yep - A day job is harder than ever to give up.

The people who control the revenue streams will be in the seat of power, the actual doers will be at the bottom of the pile. This is not only true for the music industry, it is true for the food, energy and water industries.
We are here on Earth to fart around. Don't let anybody tell you any different
- Kurt Vonnegut.

Blooby

I find it interesting that the book industry has learned little from the music industry. I went to buy a digital book the other day only to find out it was $15.00. There is no physical product. Ridiculous.

Hook

I have very contradicting feelings towards this issue. I've always felt pretty strongly that art should be inexpensive to free, but that males it quite difficult for the artist. I make my living performing, I've had to work hard and accept a different type of success. I supporting four kids and am paid to play guitar 5-6 days aweek ....success. now if I can ever take the next step (& I do plan to) I kinda hope I'll continue to give my music for free and survive off of performing. I do realize and belive art has value but I prefer it to be  enjoyed by all.
Rock on!

recorder
Boss BR-80
recorder
Boss BR-800
Because the Hook brings you back
I ain't tellin' you no lie
The hook brings you back
On that you can rely

Super 8

Quote from: Hook on October 27, 2015, 08:34:33 AMI kinda hope I'll continue to give my music for free and survive off of performing.