advice on singing AND playing... at the same time.

Started by Tony W, April 02, 2009, 10:42:33 AM

Tony W

Ok, most people find this astounding when I ask, but I never get an answer that works. I can strum the guitar, I can change chords, I can do both at the same time! The problem is, every time I open my mouth, either one or both of my hands stop working. Obviously I'm a noob in every aspect of music.

Some people tell me that it's just unnatural to play without singing, they can't wrap their mind around it. Others tell me to just practice. I've hit some sort of mental barrier. I can only tell you this, I am consciously aware of what both hands are doing, and concentrate on changes. I'm assuming if this became second nature, almost an involuntary action that I could focus on moving my lips?

recorder
Boss BR-800

recorder
Boss BR-80

recorder
Boss Micro BR

Greeny

Well... with the BR you have the luxury of being able to record both separately! But for me, I couldn't write songs or play live without doing both at the same time  :D

I think it's just practice - and as you say, being at a level of ease where your hands are taking care of the chords automatically whilst your mind is focused on nailing the vocal.

And remember, it's not unnatural to play without singing - there are plenty of top-notch guitarists on here who won't be doing both at the same time. It just depends on what you want from your own music  :)

Bluesberry