Hum and Dad

Started by strummer10, December 05, 2013, 12:43:41 PM

strummer10

My wife and I recently had our first child. Why are you telling us this you ask? Well, I was playing the other day and my daughter started screaming so I asked my wife to turn off my amp whilst I attended to her. When I returned I realised that she had turned off my valve amp (Fender Hot Rod Deluxe III) at the mains socket (rather than turn it to standby and then turn the amp off). I've noticed since that when I turn the amp on, there's like an echo for a few seconds (a bit like a delay pedal) but the main difference is that when I engage my Boss OS2 (overdrive/distortion) there is a really loud hum. If I use my Strat it is worse in the neck, middle and bridge position which is something that I knew happens with single coils, but it was never really noticeable before. Could this be as a result of my wife turning the amp off at the mains? Or does it sound like the pedal has a problem? I'm a real novice when it comes to electronics so please bear that in mind with any suggestions you may have!

AndyR

The stand-by stuff is more for warming up your amp/valves, and keeping them warm, before thrashing away - so it's more important as part of the "turning it on" process.

Turning it off at the wall should be no problem at all - as long as you remember to turn the amp off (or into stand-by) BEFORE turning it back on at the wall.

For example, I remember years ago, working at a gig where the power was pulled (by a drunken idiot)... everyone dived for their amps and set them to stand-by, except the lead-guitarist. When the power was switched back on, everyone's amp was fine except for his - the surge blew the output transformer... But even that was unlucky, another time it wouldn't have happened.