Production & Mixing Notes - Sharing what I've learned

Started by Greeny, February 17, 2009, 05:16:18 AM

Greeny

This came from Holdempok asking for some pointers on song production and mixing. It's what I've learned the hard way, through trial and error, but it might be helpful to anyone trying to get a slightly more 'professional' mix done on their songs. I use that term loosely, because I'm no expert in these things. Anyone who has listened to Hooper's work on here will know the difference between being competent (like me) and making the production an art in itself (like him). Note: this is just the way that I do it – it's not necessarily right, and isn't very complicated. For example, I never tinker with the amp sounds or guitar effect parameters like some people do.

1.The first thing to do is think about the style and speed of the song, then create a guide rhythm track which meets your needs. Try a few 'kit' sounds to see which flavour appeals the most. I keep the metronome as an intro, then just leave the chosen pattern on step 2 to play for the rest of the song.

2.TRACK 1: Start with the rhythm guitar as the backbone of your song. For me, this tends to be acoustic guitar. I often blend the MIC and GTR to record this part, using just enough guitar signal to give the tone some depth, but relying on the MIC to make the guitar sound natural. I use 'BassCrnch' for the GTR effect and 'OnBoard1' for the MIC. I also sometimes add backing vocals 'live' whilst I'm playing. Because it's through the mic, you might have to go back afterwards and record over the start on 'GTR' to remove any noise you don't want.

3.I tend to pan the acoustic part left – usually between L25 and L30. But it seems to sound best panned left. Or maybe that's just what I like.