Different Sides - remake - by oldrottenhead and 64Guitars

Started by 64Guitars, January 02, 2013, 10:25:43 AM

64Guitars

Different Sides (remake of ORH's song)
Performed by 64Guitars and Oldrottenhead
Time:
0:00
Volume:
I enjoyed this one that oldrottenhead wrote and recorded live in the living room with his ukulele.

https://songcrafters.org/community/index.php?topic=17272.0

It inspired me to try out a few ideas with my new Akai MPK25 midi keyboard controller and some soft synths. I used AlsaModularSynth for the bass and Swami with a few soundfonts for the rest. This is all free software. I recorded straight to Audacity. My timing's not the greatest so I would have been better off recording it in a sequencer which could then quantize my performance to fix my timing errors. But I'm still learning all the software and couldn't find one that would let me use both soft synths and audio tracks too. I'm sure it can be done; I just need time to work out how to do it.

Anyway, I sent the works to oldrottenhead last night and he re-recorded his ukulele and vocals and mixed them with my backing mix. Here's the result.

written by Oldrottenhead
lyrics, vocals, and ukulele by Oldrottenhead
soft synths by 64Guitars
recorder
Zoom R20
recorder
Boss BR-864
recorder
Ardour
recorder
Audacity
recorder
Bitwig 8-Track
     My Boss BR website

Geir

WOW !

I love the transformation this has gone through. Really excellent arrangement, and thats some fab sounds you've picked out 64G. Couldn't hear no timing issues either!

piPad bound ::)
recorder
Boss BR-80
recorder
Boss BR-800
recorder
Audacity
recorder
iPad GarageBand

Oh well ........

kenny mac

Wowwwwww guys love it,great sound mr 64(Ill really need to get your 1st name lol)jim as usual you are the colours added to complete the picture,brawwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww.

Redler

Nice synth additions, 64!! The percussion job gives nice flavor on this! I'm hooked on ORH's uke songs!!

Kari
recorder
Korg Sound on Sound
Redler & Co