Songwriting Book?

Started by MelodyMaker, August 10, 2012, 09:19:36 PM

MelodyMaker

Hello everyone!
Yes, I'm new to the thread, and this community! I was wondering if anyone could recommend a good book on the craft on songwriting? I'm just getting started and figure this might be a great place to start!

Thank you!
 :)

AndyR

Welcome :)

I'm going to assume you're already using your ears and giving it a go anyway - if you're not, DO! If you can hum, you can write songs. If you can sing or play an instrument, you're miles ahead. Start making some stuff and posting it on here - this site can help you realise that the instinctive stuff you're doing is already hitting the mark. You probably don't even need a book to get going...

BUT if you're someone who likes to suck in all of the knowledge that they can find, and is happy to include using books to obtain it (I am), then I really like these two:

The Craft and Business of Songwriting - John Braheny
Successful Lyric Writing - Sheila Davies

The first one is the best and most informative book that I've read on songwriting. It has lots of stuff I didn't need to know but found interesting anyway. But it made sense of what I'd learnt already on my own. It helped me to push myself in different directions and to actually understand what I'm doing.

The second one is good, but I've never got round to finishing it yet. I have some others of hers as well - The Songwriter's Idea Book, is a good one.

There are lots of good books about it songwriting. Some suit me more than others.

My advice on songs, and all things creative, is don't treat these or any other book as stuff you need to learn to become worthy. Treat them as stuff written by people who feel just as passionate about it and would like to share what they've learnt with some like-minded people.

The most important stuff you'll ever know about songwriting is what comes out of your own head, always trust that... how it gets in there is entirely up to you.