It Was A Trip (live 2010) - Farrell Jackson Unplugged

Started by Farrell Jackson, October 15, 2011, 11:35:04 AM

Farrell Jackson

it-was-a-trip-live-2010-audio-file
Time:
0:00
Volume:
Although I was a gigging musician with a band for 35 years, I would occasionally do some solo performances. This version of "It Was A Trip (Live)" is one of those rare moments. Done originally in the studio for my Jaxonville CD, this live version is from an unplugged benefit concert in 2010. Although it's basically the same song but being a live, unplugged performance changed the feel and vibe of the song. For instance, you can hear the creak of the old wooden stage and sounds from the audience. It definitely puts you right in the audience and in the moment with me. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did that night in 2010.

Farrell Jackson - vocals, acoustic guitar and harmonica.
The lyric are based on a true experience.

It Was A Trip

I said "Oh my", there were birds in the sky
Turning colors before my eyes
I looked around at the clouds on the ground
Making music touching down

I don't know why there were bottles in the sky
Knocking people to the ground
The crowd started runnin' when the bullets started comin'
Confusion all around

Ooooo.... It was a scene of psychedelia
Ooooo.... I can't forget, I'm here to tell ya
It was a trip, I won't forget
It was a trip, I won't forget.....No no no no no....

A bullet in the head, the earth was turning red
And a boy lay on the ground
He wasn't in the aim of the motorcycle gang
But they shot him just the same

There are those times when I'm back in '69
And the memories make me sick
Harmless teenage fun with a concert in the sun
And a life is gone so quick

Ooooo.... It was a scene of psychedelia
Ooooo.... I can't forget, I'm here to tell ya
It was a trip, I won't forget
It was a trip, I won't forget.....No no no no no....

Farrell Jackson © 2006
recorder
Tascam DP-32
recorder
Fostex VF-160

Farrell Jackson

Rayon Vert