8 Virtual tracks?!

Started by Bro, December 21, 2008, 09:04:49 AM

Bro

Now i am a bit new to the mbr. Anyway, i've heard a lot of people talk about the micro br being a 4 track recorder, with 8 virtual tracks. Now, what does that mean? 8 Virtual tracks, what is it and how do i use it?  ??? Thanks.
If you loose track over a chord progression, play as fast as you possibly can. Nobody will know. Thats how they invented bebop.

Farmjazz

Dear Mr. Clapton,

Rubbish! You've been a victim of hateful gossip, sir!

The BOSS MICRO BR is a four track digital recorder that has, in fact, thirty-two virtual tracks. Any of those thirty-two "takes" can be combined in any way you choose. You can even produce a thirty-two part electric bass concerto if you wish.

I hope this clears it up for you.

64Guitars

I prefer to think of it as a 32-track recorder with a built-in 4-channel mixer. The 32 tracks are grouped 8 tracks per mixer channel. At any time, you can select any one track from each group of 8 to hear a mix of those 4 tracks. And, using bounce mode, you can record the mix to any pair of the remaining 28 tracks. Then you can listen to the mix from those two tracks while recording two more tracks. Now you can bounce those 4 (the 2-track mix plus the 2 new tracks) to another pair and record 2 more. And so on.

You can also export all of your individual tracks (up to 32) to your computer and mix them in a software DAW such as Audacity which isn't limited to only 4 channels, so you can mix all 32 tracks at once (assuming your computer is fast enough to handle that many tracks simultaneously).

See this page for a more thorough explanation of v-tracks and bouncing:

http://www.geocities.com/sixtyfourguitars/BossBr/Tutorials/V-Tracks_and_Bouncing.html

recorder
Zoom R20
recorder
Boss BR-864
recorder
Ardour
recorder
Audacity
recorder
Bitwig 8-Track
     My Boss BR website

Bro

Okay, thanks to both of you and thanks for the fast reply  :D