C.d's

Started by cazza, March 29, 2011, 09:03:19 PM

cazza

Is it best when you are sending out c.ds to get gigs to send out raw live stuff or tracks you have tweeked?

Greeny

I'm no expert, but I'm pretty sure the venue / booker would prefer to hear how you sound live. After all, there's plenty of studio / software tweaking that can disguise weak performers. I'd be much happier playing somewhere where their expectations were realistic about how I sound!

Flash Harry

Good question.

My feeling on this is to record a demo which gives a flavour of your set. Record it and mix it well because most people are exposed only to the polished finished product.
Live recordings are seldom of the quality that people expect cds to be.

Four tracks would be ok. You should be able to do that in a day with a modest outlay.

Or you can do it yourself with a BR.

We are here on Earth to fart around. Don't let anybody tell you any different
- Kurt Vonnegut.

OsCKilO

I say send out the Live stuff.. But it depends on where you are....

But the best thing to do is get friendly with people on the local music scene. That will get you gigs better than CD's will.

If I book people for a paid gig, it will usually be because I have seen them live at an open mic somewhere.
Or "Live" on you tube...

And if you record a live set through the mixing desk, it will sound good enough to send out for your live demo....

This is how one guitar and one mic sounds recorded through the desk.... http://osckilo.bandcamp.com/track/crown-of-dust-live-at-the-hobgoblin-islington

Make sure your drums are mic'ed up if you want to record through the desk but this might be hard in small venues.

recorder
Boss BR-80
recorder
Boss Micro BR
OsCKilO websites:  weebly.com  MySpace  SoundClick  ReverbNation
OsCKilO Albums:  "Masks"  "Easy London"

Also on Twitter for Live stuff..
Divert and sublimate your anger and potentially virulent emotions to creative energy

T.C. Elliott