3 old songs, before DSS was born

Started by dasilvasings, March 18, 2011, 08:12:37 AM

dasilvasings

Tensão Flauta Contrabaixo e Violoncelo
Time:
0:00
Volume:
Dear all,

I decided to put 3 old songs to thank you for the recent bumps (and to answer a lost comment from Cuthbert about Satie) - I'm lacking inspiration and time to make new music, and even to listen to new music. I'm quite busy with a new work and when I get home, my daughter is becoming more and more demanding in terms of time - I don't really mind ;-). But I don't want to be completely idle with my music and this forum, so...

A long time ago, in a galaxy far far away...

Much before the birth of DaSilvaSings, when I was in my early twenties, I started studying classical double-bass at the conservatory. While other double-bassist were about my age, my music theory lessons were my weekly hour of humiliation, since my (much) younger colleagues were so much better than me with their ears, muti-tasking, etc. My sole revenge was music theory, and since I was starting to use computers for music, in those times I wrote 3 songs in midi (score).

The first, "Tensão Flauta, Contrabaixo e Violoncelo" (no need for translation, I guess...) was written to the most noblest of intents: I was after a girl! The song was meant to be a "musical joke", since the song develops tension only to finalizes in the easiest C Major. My objective was to have an excuse for extra reharsal with the beautiful celloist. To mitigate risks, there was a flute part for the lovely flutist too!

God mustn't exist, since after all these efforts and tribulations, all I got was a weird song written in midi... So I decided to add a percussion part later, just for me and my music.