How do you compose your songs?

Started by Pedro, January 20, 2008, 05:46:04 PM

Pedro

I know this is a question so many times asked but it I would like to know how do you compose your songs? Lyrics first, music later or music first, lyrics later? And what about the music, do you come up with the melody first or the chords?

My way of creating songs always starts with a guitar jam and then maybe some random words and phrases creating the melody. Sometimes there is a melody haunting me for days until I record with the Micro BR.

Well and what about you?

Oldrottenhead

i have no set formula, sometimes a song appears in my mind fully formed, then i have to work out how to play it, sometimes i cant work out how to play it, coz im a pish musician. other times i have a lyric or theme going on which inspires the music or vice versa, wot im trying to say is, is if the muse is there grab it by the throat and dont let it go, thats the great thing about the micro br , you can get an idea down or saved before you forget  about it.
whit goes oan in ma heid

Jemima's
Kite

The
Bunkbeds

Honker

Nevermet

Longhair
Tigers

Oldrottenhead
"In order to compose, all you need to do is remember a tune that nobody else has thought of."
- Robert Schumann

Pedro

Quote from: oldrottenhead on January 23, 2008, 12:01:15 PMi have no set formula, sometimes a song appears in my mind fully formed, then i have to work out how to play it, sometimes i cant work out how to play it, coz im a pish musician. other times i have a lyric or theme going on which inspires the music or vice versa, wot im trying to say is, is if the muse is there grab it by the throat and dont let it go, thats the great thing about the micro br , you can get an idea down or saved before you forget  about it.

You can't imagine the amount of ideas that I lose that way. My ideas are so fast, sometimes it happens that I completely forget even before turning Micro BR on.

13STARZ+