Microphone Problem

Started by ferg, January 15, 2008, 11:35:47 AM

ferg

Hi,

I'm a real newbie at this but lovin it so far. Problem I have is that my girlfriend bought me a mic for xmas -(non powered standard mic) with a connector for the External jack. Guys in music shop said that it was suitable for the Micro BR.

Now I have it plugged in the external jack and am recording but it only comes out in mono on one earphone. I've tried several different variations to no avail . The mic is stereo, and good quality but not powered. The manual seems to suggest I need a powered mic or am I misunderstanding the manual ??? The internal mic works fine.

Any help would be most appreciated.

Ferg

Pedro

Hello there Ferg and welcome to the community.   ;D

Did you arm two tracks? When you are recording in Stereo you have to press two tracks simultaneous so that it records in Stereo.

Tell me more about that microphone. Is it a Dynamic Microphone? Like this:

And are you certain that it is stereo? If it is a Dynamic Microphone chances are that is mono. Does the jack plug look exactly like this (two blue stripes):

If it is a dynamic microphone be aware that the Line IN is not designed to have dynamic microphones plugged directly. The mics must be amplified and have the same impedance as the Line In first. This can be done using a Microphone Pre-amp which is something like this.

Sunjess tried to use a dynamic microphone with Micro BR plugged directly, see this topic for his experience.

The powered microphones the manual talk about are the Electret Condenser Microphones. They are a small type of condenser microphones that have to be given 2.5V to work and Micro BR has this voltage at the Line IN. You can read more about this ones at https://songcrafters.org/articles/diy_electret_microbr_microphone.html

ferg