BR-1600CD

Started by Scooterflash, January 09, 2016, 05:55:45 AM

I have owned my BR-1600CD  since 2011.  I have the printed operator's manual as well as the DVD operator's manual.  Even with those, the learning curve is very steep.  In fact after 4 years, I still haven't gotten to the bottom of the BR-1600's levels of complexity.  Maybe that's just me and my own shortcomings.  But I am thinking of replacing it with the Tascam DP-24SD, because I've read it's simpler to operate.  My main focus of attention is to record many of the 200 songs I have written over the past 30 years.  I am a guitarist/singer/songwriter, not a recording studio engineer/producer, although I do have a lot of experience with mixer boards and mixing tracks to the final mix down.  I am tired of trying to navigate through the Boss small monochrome, hard-to-see view screen.  I want to spend my time on making recordings of my music, not fumbling my way through time-consuming many-layered options.  I agree with the shortcomings already mentioned in this thread:  

* Unable to change files into WAV format which is pretty much the standard file format for music.

* It will nor record on cheaper CDs, you must buy the expensive, top-of-the-line Japanese made CDs or it won't record properly.  

* It's use of a fixed, low capacity, hard drive, (it is definitely low-capacity, if your trying to record 150 songs with full     instrumentation).   It should be using a removable 32 Gig SDHC card like the Tascam, which means no limitations on memory.

* The fact that Boss no longer makes the BR-1600CD, which means no more software updates, rendering it latent and out-of-date.

* The steep learning curve that never seems to end.

* Small monochrome, hard-to-see view screen.

* Other issues as well.