Mastering

Started by Javier, April 23, 2008, 10:36:43 AM

I made a song last night.  When I mastered it, at first, I didn't export it, so I had to master it again.  When I did, I got a double sound and the level was so high it distorted.  Does anyone know how to fix this problem?

SteveG

More info needed! lol. Ok, Did you play back the original tracks and the master track at once? Did you play the mastered track with drums and the MBR drums at once? These seem the most likely off the top of my head.

To answer your first question, I don't know.  I mastered one time, didn't export it, and then mastered it again.  Let me tell you what I did.  Mastered it once, didn't transfer, entered master mode again, and mastered one more time so I could transfer and that's when I got the double sound and distortion.  I just bought the BR last Saturday, so I'm really new at this.  Let me know what I did wrong.
Thanks

SteveG

You have to be playing the master tracks and other tracks too I guess. When you master 4 tracks all on virtual track 1, the MBR records them to 1&2 v2. Did you change tracks to these to listen to the master, then try to do the second master playing these and 3&4 v1 as well? Make sure that you are playing the 4 tracks you started with, or the ones with the bounces you want, and no others?

Thanks for your input.  I sat down last night and noticed that I had placed everything in only one virtual track.  I had to redo the whole thing except for the drums.  Now it sounds much better.  Now the only thing I need is a good mic for vocal (all I have is a SM-58), which is good for live performance but I'm not getting a really good sound from it for recording.  I also noticed, that since I don't have a good pair of headphones, I'll have to master through my comp speakers to get a good mix.  The guitar was too low and vocal and drums too high.  But I'm still learning.

Oldrottenhead